March 3, 2021

PR Headline News

Top Stories Without The Fluff

At the gates of the Caguas Criollos championship

Photo: CyberNews

SAN JUAN – The Criollos de Caguas placed themselves at the gates of supremacy in winter baseball by winning 7-3 over the Indios de Mayagüez, this Saturday night, at the Hiram Bithorn stadium in San Juan.

Caguas dominates the coronation dance 3-0 and has seven victories in a row in the postseason.

La Yegüita took the definitive lead in the seventh inning, when, with the score level at two runs, Jarren Durán hit an RBI double of the lead run. Yadier Molina’s sacrifice fly brought in Johneshwy Fargas to make it 4-2.

The Indians tried to react in the eighth with a hairline, driven off a single by Henry Ramos. In the same act, Durán’s home run with two on board took off Caguas on the scoreboard with a four-run lead.

Mayagüez was the first to step on the plate in the first episode, when Iván De Jesús hit a single that led to Henry Ramos. The Criollos responded in the second act, by hitting Jonathan Morales’ box, which pushed Vimael Machín.

In the fourth inning, the Cagüeños took the lead 2-1 with a wild pitch by Luis Medina and in the seventh, the Indians leveled the score with a double by Danny Ortiz.

Reliever Anthony Maldonado claimed the win in relief with one inning and Robby Rowland took the loss with a pair of runs allowed in just a third of innings.

The series continues this Sunday at 6:00 in the afternoon with the fourth challenge, at the Isidoro ‘Cholo’ García stadium, in Mayagüez. It will be broadcast live on WAPA Deportes.

The Criollos hardly need a win to establish themselves as the only team in the history of Puerto Rican winter baseball to win 19 championships.

Source link