June 13, 2021

PR Headline News

Top Stories Without The Fluff

Look at the areas of San Juan, Carolina, Trujillo Alto and Canóvanas that will not have water

The subscribers of the Aqueduct and Sewer Authority (AAA) of four municipalities of Puerto Rico will be affected this week by a rationing plan that it will be implemented due to the low levels of the Carraízo reservoir .

The interruptions will be scheduled in 24-hour periods one day yes and one day as of this Thursday, July 2 at 9:00 in the morning as reported. Other areas will begin on Friday, July 3 at the same time.

The AAA divided by zones A and B the places where the drinking water service will be suspended. Look at them below:

San Juan – Zones A and B
Carolina – Zone A
Carolina – Zone B
Trujillo Alto – Zones A and B
Canóvanas – Zones A and B

It is estimated that this rationing plan affects some 140,000 AAA clients who receive water from the Sergio Cuevas filtration plant. Said plant is nourished by the Carraízo reservoir, the level of which has decreased due to the drought that affects a good part of the Island.

Yesterday, the Governor Wanda Vázquez declared a state of emergency for the entire Island by drought.

“During the past weeks, we have been facing a period of low precipitation which, together with the continuous aftershocks that continue to occur due to the earthquake of January 7, 2020 and the pandemic of the coronavirus, threatens the general well-being including basic services and the health of our citizens, "said Vázquez.

The flows of the surface water bodies in Puerto Rico have lower conditions to the typical historical averages, according to data from the United States Geological Survey.

Source link