August 1, 2021

PR Headline News

Top Stories Without The Fluff

Meet some mayors who were defeated in the general elections

Including some who had served several four-year terms as first municipal executives

San Juan – Several mayors, including some who had served several four-year terms as municipal executives, were defeated in the general elections on Tuesday, according to data from the State Elections Commission (CEE).

The mayor of Ponce for the New Progressive Party (PNP), María ‘Mayita’ Meléndez, accepted her defeat after being in office for 12 years.

Meléndez urged the new mayor, Dr. Luis Irizarry Pabón, to do a good job “like I did.”

While the mayor of Adjuntas for the PNP, Jaime Barlucea, acknowledged his defeat after spending 16 years at the head of the City of the Sleeping Giant.

“I congratulate the new mayor José Hiram Soto Rivera,” Barlucea said in a message on his social networks.

The 16-year mayor of Santa Isabel by the Popular Democratic Party (PPD), Enrique “Quique” Questell Alvarado, was defeated by Rafael “Billy” Burgos Santiago, of the PNP.

While the mayor of Guayanilla for the PPD, Nelson Torres Yordán, accepted his defeat against Raúl Rivera, of the PNP.

In Arecibo, the New Progressive mayor, Carlos Molina Rodríguez, lost to Carlos Ramírez Irizarry, of the PPD.

While in Aguadilla, Yanitsia Irizarry Méndez lost the election to Julio Roldán Concepción, of the PPD.

Source link