June 15, 2021

PR Headline News

Top Stories Without The Fluff

Penepé delegation in the Chamber will oppose new taxes

The new minority delegation of the New Progressive Party (PNP) signed a public statement today in which they assure that they will not give their vote to any project that results in higher taxes.

“When we began our functions in January 2017, we promised not to approve any measure that would place one more tax on the people and we comply with that, including lowering several of the 97 taxes or tax increases that the Chamber of the Popular Democratic Party legislated ( PPD), such as B2B and ‘national patent’. Our delegation will not endorse any bill or similar measure that seeks, either directly or indirectly, to increase contributions to our people, that is not going to happen. We will tenaciously fight any attempt to do so, “spokesman Carlos” Johnny “Méndez Núñez said in written statements.

“We (PNP delegation) found an unemployment rate of almost 14%, and with the initiatives of this delegation, we reduced that to 6%, more than half, and that we suffered the attacks of two hurricanes, Irma and María , in less than two weeks. We found an unprecedented economic slowdown, 12 years of recession, something never before seen in our hemisphere. Not only did we correct that, but we entered 2020 with sustained growth of 1.2%, a figure not seen in generations. We are not going to lose those advances, we will fight to improve the economy, presenting legislation to rise up from the crisis caused by the pandemic and the earthquakes in the Southwest. We did it before and we are going to do it again now, “added the spokesman for the state delegation.

According to the group, in the House of Representatives of the four-year period led by Jaime Perelló and Roberto Rivera Ruiz de Porras, some 118 tax measures were approved that resulted in the increase and creation of some 97 taxes on individuals and small and medium-sized companies.

“In the past four years, this delegation led the most momentous changes in the governmental structure in the last 30 years. That is why we are going to ensure that the historic reforms that we promote are maintained and, as needed, are improved, such as the energy transformation, the educational reform that opened spaces to cut bureaucracy, directly help students and integrate the school community in decision processes. We do not need a 10-year plan, or decades-long studies, as in the case of the Civil Code, it only took will and commitment and that is something that we bring back to this four-year period, “added the New Progressive leader.

According to the PNP spokesperson, the delegation’s agenda, among other issues, will be focused on cutting the bureaucracy related to access to federal funds, the rehabilitation of road and rainwater infrastructure, as well as the homes affected by the scourge of Irma and María in 2017.

In addition, they will seek to establish an education program in the federal capital to achieve the admission of Puerto Rico as a state of the union in this generation, to continue lowering the tax rates of individuals and small and medium enterprises; identify mechanisms to help municipalities; defend the pensions of government retirees; job retention and creation; the rehabilitation and conditioning of schools in the face of the new reality of the pandemic; economic reactivation in all sectors; and expand access to justice programs.

The new PNP delegation in the Lower House has 21 legislators, including Eddie Charbonier Chinea (District 1 of San Juan), Juan Oscar Morales Rodríguez (District 3 of San Juan), Víctor Parés Otero (District 4 of San Juan), Jorge ‘Georgie’ Navarro Suárez (District 5 of San Juan, Aguas Buenas and Guaynabo), Antonio ‘Tony’ Soto Torres (District 6 of Guaynabo, Bayamón and Cataño), Luis ‘Junior’ Pérez Ortiz (District 7 of Bayamón), Yashira Lebrón Rodríguez (District 8 of Bayamón), Yazzer Morales Díaz (District 9 of Toa Alta and Bayamón), Gabriel Rodríguez Aguiló (District 13 of Manatí, Ciales, Florida, Barceloneta and Arecibo), José ‘Memo’ González Mercado (District 14 of Arecibo and Hatillo) and Joel Franqui Atiles (District 15 of Hatillo, Camuy and Quebradillas).

In addition, there are representatives Wilson Román López (District 17 of Aguadilla and Moca), Ángel Peña Ramírez (District 33 of Las Piedras, Juncos and San Lorenzo), Méndez Núñez (District 36 of Río Grande, Luquillo, Fajardo, Ceiba, Vieques and Culebra) Ángel Bulerin Ramos (District 37 of Río Grande, Canóvanas and Loíza), Wanda Del Valle Correa (District 38 of Carolina, Canóvanas and Trujillo Alto).

By accumulation there are José Aponte Hernández, Lourdes Ramos Rivera, José “Quiquito” Meléndez and José “Pichy” Torres Zamora.

Source link